The Maverick Awards

The 2021 Maverick Awards presented by World ATM Congress is now CLOSED

Please check back here for updates on this opportunity to recognise our industry's top mavericks for their contributions in the past year.

ATCA and CANSO are pleased to announce the 2021 Maverick Awards presented by World ATM Congress. The Awards recognise outstanding achievement in innovation, collaboration, and sustainability in air traffic management (ATM). The Awards showcase the brightest ideas for the future, recognise positive contributions to the environment and conservation, celebrate the cooperation between partners and stakeholders, and promote overall excellence in the aviation industry.

The Awards also enable ATCA and CANSO to further their partnership in recognising and showcasing the great work individuals, teams, and organisations are doing across sectors, and acknowledging those who have made outstanding contributions. 

How It Works

Submissions: Everyone – not just ATCA and CANSO members – can apply by submitting a simple templated synopsis.

Submission Process: Click Here to See the Rules of Submission 

Selection Process: A judging panel comprised of ATCA and CANSO representatives – renowned leaders from air navigation service providers (ANSPs), industry, and academia – will create a shortlist from the nomination submissions and select a maximum of three finalists per award category, based on open and transparent criteria.

The Decision: Once the judging panel confirms the three final candidates for each award category, World ATM Congress will announce the names. Winners will be announced during the Maverick Awards Ceremony, held at 15:00 – 16:00 Tuesday, 26 October, in the ATM Theatre. The Awards ceremony will be hosted by ATCA’s President and CEO Peter F. Dumont and CANSO’s Director General Simon Hocquard.


Three Award Categories: 

Collaboration Award
Recognises the importance of effective relationships and collaborations within/across disciplines and sectors to achieve a shared goal.
Click here to see Collaboration Award Criteria

Innovation Award

Recognises new ideas, technologies, and concepts that challenge current air traffic management norms with the potential to significantly advance performance, operations, or capabilities.
Click here to see Innovation Award Criteria

Sustainability Award

Recognises leaders, initiatives, and organisations working towards reducing aviation’s impact on the environment and are making significant contributions to improving the environmental footprint of aviation through ATM.  
Click here to see Sustainability Award Criteria



The nomination deadline is 9 September 2021 at 11:59 EST


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Read More
See Full List Here